November 30, 2015


Parking Australia, the national body representing the interests of the parking industry in Australia, last week elected four directors, (two are new to the Board) at the Annual General Meeting of the Company.

A comprehensive Presidents Report for 2015 was delivered by Cristina Lynn highlighting the success of the inaugural Outlook Conference held in Sydney, the roll out of the new Parking Australia membership model, the increase in membership income and numbers as well as the support by the Board of Directors for the Accredited Operator Scheme due for release in the first quarter of 2016. Cristina Lynn and Joy Addison were re-elected to the board for a second term.

The new directors, Sharon Prior and Martin Ryan have joined the board during a significant period for Parking Australia. As the association heads into 2016 it celebrates 30 year of representing the Parking Industry, having been formed in 1986 by the Capital City Council of Lord Mayors. The year ahead will be focused on the theme of ‘raising the bar” which is a key strategic objective of Parking Australia designed to encourage best practice across the industry. In 2016 the industry body will roll out an Accredited Operator Scheme and develop a certified parking professional program aimed at promoting knowledge and expertise within the parking industry.

Sharon Prior is the Team Leader Off Street Parking Services at Adelaide City Council. Since commencing with Adelaide City Council in 2004 Sharon has undertaken a variety of leadership roles which have covered all aspects of parking within Local Government, ranging from the regulatory situation of On Street Parking to her current role which involves managing Off Street Parking for Adelaide City Council. This includes the UPark business, made up of nine commercial off street multi deck car parks. The Off Street team also manage Park Land event parking for events held in the Adelaide Park Lands.

Martin Ryan is the Head of Parking and Transport, Brisbane Airport. Martin has over 20 years’ experience in Business Development, Commercial Management and logistics gained from his roles as State, National and International Sales Managers for companies within the Photographic, Gift and Toy Industries as well as divisional responsibilities within the Airport Industry. He joined Brisbane Airport in 2011 to assist with the development and launch of the state of the art, 9 level, 5,000 + bay facility and refurbishment of adjacent facilities. Within this role for Brisbane Airport, Martin is responsible for managing all aspects of Brisbane Airport’s Parking and Transport Services division, including Car Parking, Ground Transport and Car Rentals.

At the Board meeting after the AGM, Cristina Lynn was appointed President for another term and Neal Smylie was unanimously voted as Vice President. With such exceptional nominees for the role of Directors the elections are competitive and very close in outcome. Speaking about the appointment of the two new Directors, President Cristina Lynn noted that “the experience of both Directors in their sectors will be a huge asset towards delivery of the initiatives Parking Australia will launch in 2016 as will their representation of members in South Australia and Queensland.”

The new directors join Parking Australia’s established board: Cristina Lynn (President), Neal Smylie (Vice President), Mat Clee, Joy Addison, Graham Arndt and Glenn Williams.

For media enquiries:

Lorraine Duffy
Chief Executive
Parking Australia
P: 0401 410 242